City election results announced

Town Crier Graham Keating today heralded a new term of City of Sydney Council declaring Clover Moore MP as Lord Mayor for another four years after she won 56 per cent of the Lord Mayoral vote.

Lord Mayor Clover Moore MP said: “I am honoured to be re-elected with an increased vote for a second term as Lord Mayor and would like to thank the community for their support. I believe the support reflects our work over the past four and a half years.”

“It gives us the endorsement to continue the momentum for positive change: Implementing Sustainable Sydney 2030, reviewing and updating our eight Local Action Plans, finishing the new City Plan, continuing our extensive capital works program, and providing compassionate and practical solutions for complex inner city social challenges.”

The new Council make-up will include six members of the Clover Moore Independent Team, two Greens, one Liberal and one Labor.

Former Councillors John McInerney, Chris Harris, Shayne Mallard, Marcelle Hoff and Phillip Black were re-elected along with new Councillors Meredith Burgmann, Di Tornai, Robert Kok and Irene Doutney.

A referendum asking voters if they agreed with City of Sydney being divided into three wards with each ward electing three Councillors was rejected with 58.04 per cent of formal votes voting ‘no’.